Press release

Control wins 6 NAVGTR® Awards

Sponsored by Businesswire

The National Academy of Video Game Trade Reviewers®, a 501(c)(3) non-profit media organization of 820 media voters and 9,500 subscribers, has announced winners for its 19th annual awards program honoring video game art, technology, and production.

This press release features multimedia. View the full release here:

Control, winner of 6 NAVGTR Awards (Photo: Business Wire)

Control, winner of 6 NAVGTR Awards (Photo: Business Wire)

The NAVGTR® Awards honor 57 competitive categories recognizing achievement in animation, art direction, character design, controls, game design, game engineering, musical score, sound effects, writing, and more. Since its inception, the academy has recognized over 5,300 talented individuals.

Leading all winning games is Control (6), followed by Death Stranding and The Outer Worlds with 5. Untitled Goose Game and A Plague Tale: Innocence tied with 4 wins each. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice won 3 NAVGTR® Awards, including top honors as Game of the Year.

Among developers, Remedy Entertainment led developers with six wins for Control. Its publisher, 505 Games, picked up an additional award for Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night in the category of Outstanding Control Precision. The grand total of 7 NAVGTR® Awards was the largest for the year.

Number of Awards Won per Game

06 Control

05 Death Stranding

05 The Outer Worlds

04 A Plague Tale: Innocence

04 Untitled Goose Game

03 Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

02 Dreams

02 Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

02 The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening

02 Vader Immortal

Number of Awards Won per Development Studio

06 Remedy Entertainment

05 Kojima Productions

05 Obsidian

04 Asobo Studio

04 House House Games

03 Capcom

03 FromSoftware

02 Cryo Interactive Ent


02 Nintendo

02 Respawn

Number of Awards Won per Publisher

07 505 Games

06 Nintendo

05 Private Division

05 Sony Interactive Entertainment

04 Electronic Arts

04 Focus Home Interactive

04 Panic

03 Activision

03 Capcom

03 FromSoftware

02 Cryo Interactive Ent

02 Devolver Digital

02 Disney

Number of Awards Won per Individual (multiple wins only)

03 Ludvig Forssell

02 Hidetaka Miyazaki

02 Jacob Strasser

02 Leonard Boyarsky

02 Michael McMaster

02 Nico Disseldorp

02 Stuart Gillespie-Cook

For a complete list of categories, nominees, and winners, please visit Follow @navgtr on twitter.

Key Dates for NAVGTR® Awards

March 21, 2020 – War of Awards (follow @warofawards)

November 23, 2020 – Entries due

January 11, 2021 – Nominations announced

February 22, 2021 – Winners announced


Press Kit: Dropbox


NAVGTR Corp.(TM) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation devoted to promoting and recognizing game developers.

The general voting body of reviewers, journalists, analysts, YouTubers, Twitch streamers, content creators, and writers includes contributors for Bitmob, CBS Interactive, Destructoid, EGM Now, Game Informer, Game Trailers,, Gamespot, Gamezone, IGN, Kotaku, Machinima, Mashable, Massively, MSNBC, Polygon, Retroware, The Koalition, Ten Ton Hammer, and Venture Beat.

Additional varied outlets include Austin American-Statesman, Break, Chicago Sun-Times, CNN, Futurenet, GamesRadar, Gaming Illustrated, Geek, Los Angeles Times, MMO PRG, Moody’s, NBC, New Gamer Nation, New York Times, Nintendo World Report, The Ottawa Citizen, PC Gamer, San Jose Mercury-News, Terminal Gamer, USA Today, The Vancouver Sun, Wired News, and hundreds more.

About War of Awards

Established in 2015, War of Awards pulls nominees from eight video game awards bodies (NAVGTR, DICE, Golden Joysticks, IGF, SXSW, GDC, GANG, The Game Awards) and empowers attendees to determine the winners in an annual live caucus-style debate.

Polling is conducted throughout the year on Discord and the website. Developers can submit nominations at no cost through

All titles, characters, likenesses, and indicia are copyrights or trademarks of their respective owners. All rights reserved.