Press release

Some of the Nation’s Most Accomplished STEM Teachers Selected as Albert Einstein Educator Fellows

Sponsored by Businesswire

Nine accomplished K-12 science, technology, engineering and mathematics
teachers from across the United States have been named 2019-2020 Albert
Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend 11
months serving in a federal agency or U.S. Congressional office in
Washington, D.C., engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program provides a
unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their
extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to
inform federal STEM education efforts.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

Amara Alexander – Woodmore Elementary, Chattanooga, Tenn.
Antinone – R.L. Paschal High School, Fort Worth, Texas
Bryant – South Warren High School, Bowling Green, Ky.
Emilie Hill –
Girls Academic Leadership Academy, Dr. Michelle King School for STEM,
Sun Valley, Calif.
Stephen Kirsche – Freedom Crossing Academy, St.
Johns, Fla.
Alexandra Laing – School District of Palm Beach County,
Lake Worth, Fla.
Kenneth Mims – Science Prep Academy, Phoenix, Ariz.
Lou O’Donnell – Plainview Old Bethpage JFK High School, Long Beach, NY
Reynolds – J.E. Harrison Middle School, Pittsburgh, Penn.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country
and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in computer
science, engineering, science, and mathematics. Federal agencies and
U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from fellows’ real-world
experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain
understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S.
education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and
educators, and broader perspectives on national education issues that
can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their
districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now in its 29th year of operation, is managed by the
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Office of Workforce
Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the
sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and

Current sponsoring agencies of the AEF Program include DOE, the Library
of Congress, the Naval Sea Systems Command, and the National Aeronautics
and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE
headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) is a
world-class DOE institute designed to strengthen a scientific workforce;
promote the integrity of scientific research through peer review;
provide 24/7 medical response to radiation accidents; evaluate human
health data to protect workers from occupational hazards; and conduct
independent environmental cleanup assessments.

Like us on Facebook:

Follow us on Twitter: @AEF_Program